|WYALONG - WEST WYALONG|
| ABORIGINAL ARTIFACT SHOP|
The office of the West Wyalong Local Aboriginal Land Council allows you to explore Wiradjuri art and culture. Ask to see the Bai-Yai Room - a magical meeting place. Artifacts for sale.
Open from 9.00am to 5.00pm Monday to Friday.
For more information phone: (02) 6972 3493; fax: (02) 6972 2070; email: WWLALC@optusnet.com.au
76 - 78 Main Street, West Wyalong
| DOUGLAS DC3 DAKOTA MONUMENT|
Situated on the southern approaches to town in the Lions Park.
Built in Oklahoma City in 1943, this DC3 - like many others served in WWII as a bomber and supply carrier. A gift of the late aviator Jack Masling, the DC3 was erected here by the local Lions Club and serves as a memorial to those who fought in that war.
The park has a picnic area, BBQs and toilets.
Cnr. Newell & Midwestern Highways, West Wyalong.
| GREEN CORRIDOR WALKING TRACK|
Take time out to travel the Green Corridor walking and cycle track from West Wyalong to Wyalong.
The track links the two townships and passes the famous 'White Tank', interesting outdoor art, parks with picnic facilities and play equipment and the swimming pool.
The track is 4.4km long and take about an hour on foot. Start at McCann Park.
McCann Park, Cnr. Newell & Midwestern Highways, West Wyalong.
| TRUE BLUE MINE POPPET HEAD|
This replica of the True Blue Mine (1894 - 1920) poppet head (used to raise and lower an elevator to the base of the mine) was erected to celebrate the centenary of mining in West Wyalong. Built by local craftsmen it included 40 tons of timber in its construction.
A replica of a miners' hut is nearby. The original mine is further to the west (underneath where the True Blue Motel now stands). Gold mining continues today at Lake Cowal to the north of the town.
Cooinda Park also has picnic and barbecue facilities and a toilet block.
Cooinda Park, Wyalong
| WYALONG & DISTRICTMUSEUM|
Set up in the old Wyalong Courthouse; rooms displaying aspects of West Wyalong's past set behind the 1902 facade of Sharman's cottage. Contains colonial and mining artefacts, period clothing, agricultural machinery, carriages, a 2000 vintage bottle collection and family archive. Home of the Bland District Historical Society.
Open from 2.00pm to 5.00pm seven days (or by appointment).
For more information phone (02) 6972 3303.
Main Street, Wyalong
| WEST WYALONG HERITAGE WALK|
Park the car and explore the early C20th development of West Wyalong by taking a leisurely stroll around its streets to see its historic buildings.
Start at corner of Church and Main Streets (the Bank of NSW building c.1920s shown here). Map available from the Visitor Information Centre (follow entries 1 to 24). Walk takes about 45 minutes (add an extra half an hour if you visit the museum).
| WYALONG HERITAGE WALK|
Wyalong deserves this heritage walk of its own. The originally planned town centre contains a number of important public buildings erected in the 1890s before the population centre moved to the current town further west.
Start at corner of Slee and Main Streets - the Wyalong Courthouse (1900) shown here. Map available from the Visitor Information Centre (follow entries 27 to 34). Walk takes about 20 minutes.
| BARMEDMAN MINERAL POOL|
The Barmedman Mineral Pool has unseen links to early goldmining in the town at the turn of the C20th. The mines did not last long as they were constantly flooded by an underground stream and soon abandoned.
Water from the shafts, however, proved to be high in mineral content. In 1951 local residents commenced building a pool an acre in size, which when filled proved to be a natural spa said to have curative properties.
Set in a ten acre reserve on the edge of the village the Mineral Pool is open each October through to the end of summer. Entrance is free. Amenities include a kiosk, BBQ and dressing sheds. (There is a separate, shallow part of the pool suitable for children.) Visitors welcome.
For more information phone (02) 6976 2008.
| HISTORIC NARADHAN WOOLSHED|
This heritage listed woolshed (1888) is thought to have been built & designed by the famous woolshed builder William McFadzean of Narrandera. Unique in that it is clad in cypress pine instead of corrugated iron, originally of 28 stands (14 in the days of mechanical shearing), it was a depot shed for surrounding farms up until the 1930s. Restored after storm damage in the late '90s, it remains one of the last great woolsheds of its period still standing in the west.
As such it is of unique interest to industrial archaeologists and rural historians. The sheer size and elegant design of its interior, with its echos of the great days of shearing, will delight the casual visitor (and kids!).
Open for inspection by appointment only (Morwell is a working farm). Admission $5pp. Coaches by arrangement - please book in advance. For more information phone Tom & Lan Templeton, (02) 6896 9802
"Morwell", Naradhan 2669
| WEETHALLE MUSEUM|
A small museum of local artefacts and memoribilia located in the old (relocated) CBC bank building in the railway station grounds.
The building is not open regularly; enquire at the Whistle Stop Cafe next door or use the contact details below.
For more information: Phone (02) 6975 6253 - email email@example.com
Railway Street, Weethalle 2669